The Four Stages of Product Life Cycle

The Product Life Cycle (PLC) is a sequence of stages from introduction to growth, maturity and decline through which most products progress. The PLC has a significant impact on marketing strategy, the marketing mix and on new product development.


When you develop a New Product or Service, it is fundamental that you understand and take into account and plan all PLC phases in advance.


For this reason, in this post I am going to shortly introduce the 4 PLC phases and to list some of the key features associated with. 


1. Introduction (or start-up) Stage

  • product branding is established
  • intellectual property protection are obtained
  • pricing strategy defined
  • distribution channels identified
  • marketing strategy defined


2. Growth Stage

  • product quality is maintained and additional features and services may be added
  • pricing is maintained
  • distribution channels are added as demand increases
  • promotion is aimed to a broader audience


3. Maturity Stage

  • Product features may be enhanced to differentiate the product from competitors
  • pricing is maintained
  • distribution becomes more intensive
  • promotion emphasizes product differentiation and new features


4. Decline Stage

  • Maintain the product on the market possibly adding new features to find new users
  • Reduced pricing
  • Discontinue the product, liquidate remaining inventory


In the following video, you have also the possibility to learn more about what each stage means:




In this short post, the four product life cycle stages have been described. However, a more extensive description is presented in the New Product Development Training Program developed by ATC!

Please don’t forget to subscribe to our newsletter to stay update about our offers and services.

For any further information, contact us at


PS: A quick spoiler about the next post… What is the most critical stage?

Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply